Joint Advisory Committee

The Collective Agreement Arbitration Bureau (CAAB) is administered by a Director, with advice from a Joint Advisory Committee (JAC). The role of the JAC is to advise the Director on:

  • the training and education of arbitrators and settlement officers
  • research and publication of information concerning labour arbitration
  • the establishment and maintenance of a register of arbitrators.

The members of the JAC consist of two representatives from unions, two representatives from employers and two arbitrator representatives. The CAAB Director is the Chair of the JAC. All JAC members are appointed by the Minister of Labour for specified terms. The current JAC members are:

Mark Clark, Chair
January 31, 2022 – January 31, 2025

Arne Peltz, Arbitrator
January 31, 2022 – January 31, 2025

Julie Nichols, Arbitrator
January 31, 2021 – January 31, 2024

Paul Strangway, Employer representative
January 31, 2022 – January 31, 2023

Leah Terai, Employer representative
January 31, 2021 – January 31, 2024

Martina Boyd, Trade union representative
January 31, 2022 – January 31, 2025

Vacant, Trade union representative


This page was last updated: 2022-04-12

Disclaimer: The information on this website is provided for general purposes only and is not legal advice. This information is subject to the Labour Relations Code, the Labour Relations Board Rules, the Labour Relations Regulation and the published decisions of the Board

The Labour Relations Board acknowledges the traditional territories of the many diverse Indigenous Peoples in the geographic area we serve. With gratitude and respect, we acknowledge that the Board’s office is located on the traditional unceded territories of the Coast Salish peoples, including the territories of the xʷməθkʷəy̓əm (Musqueam), Skwxwú7mesh (Squamish), and səlil̓wətaʔɬ (Tsleil-Waututh) Nations.